Skip to main content

About us

The Academy of Clinical Science and Laboratory Medicine (Academy) is the professional body, and competent authority, representing medical scientists in Ireland. Medical scientists are a regulated profession. All medical scientists must hold qualifications accredited, or approved, by the Academy.

The vision of the Academy is “To support excellence in clinical science and laboratory medicine, and in doing so, enhance patient outcomes”.

Laboratory medicine is a clinical service and the clinical sciences that underpin laboratory medicine are; Cellular Pathology (Histopathology), Clinical Chemistry, Haematology, Immunology, Medical Microbiology, Molecular Diagnostics, POCT, Transfusion and Transplantation Science and Virology. Medical scientists are at the forefront not only in the provision of these services but in the management and delivery of the services.

President Dr. Brigid Lucey -
Vice President (Past President) Dr. Irene Regan -
Membership/Fellowship Sinéad Wall -
Finance Administration Ms. Jennifer Carey -
CPD Officer's Ms. Jemma Kehoe, Mr Leo Mulvany -
Executive Officer Ms. Helen Barry -