Skip to main content


I am delighted to welcome you to The Academy of Clinical Science and Laboratory Medicine, the professional body for Medical Scientists in Ireland. The Academy functions as the Designated Authority with the approval of the Minister of Health and Children, in evaluating the education and training necessary to practise as a Medical Scientist in Ireland.

The Academy is the foremost professional body for Clinical Science and Laboratory Medicine in Ireland and the change in name approved by you the members is a reflection of the breadth and range of our specialties and the diverse roles that our members occupy in the delivery of high quality Healthcare in Ireland. Membership or eligibility for membership of the Academy of Clinical Science and Laboratory Medicine is a requirement to practise as a Medical Scientist in Ireland.

To contact us: telephone: 01-9059730.

For enquiries specifically relating to:

Executive Officer: Helen Barry
Finance: Jennifer Carey
CPD: Monica Fitzpatrick

Many Congratulations Thomas Frawley

Congratulations to President's Prize winner Thomas Frawley, 1st place at the EPBS Conference in Salzburg at the weekend. Thomas is a graduate of BSc Biomedical Science, Dublin Institute of Technology and is working in Haematology and Cancer Molecular Diagnostics, St. James's Hospital, Dublin.

Save the date Advisory Body Events

Forthcoming events full details available CPD tab and click on events:


26th: Cork: What' in the Bag? Booking open for non-members. Online booking is still open.
IMPORTANT: Arrivals on the day - please be aware that the cost is €50.00 for current academy members, and €130.00 for non members.


4th: Cork: Refresher Blood Cell Morphology.
11th: Dublin: Updates in Cellular Pathology. Booking open for non-members
13th: Cork: Returning to work following maternity leave
16th: Dublin: Reflective Practice Workshop - FULLY BOOKED
23rd: Dublin: Healthcare & the Law - FULLY BOOKED


8th December Dublin IBTS - Blood Group Serology
2018: Massive Obstetric Haemorrhage Seminar
23rd February 2018 Dublin: Joint CPD Event

Conference Bursary Awards Competition

The Academy is offering a number of bursaries to support medical scientists in promoting and developing their research. Further information and application form below.

Joint Publication between the ACSLM and the MLSA

New Horizons - Advanced Practice and Extended Scope of Practice for Medical Scientists in Ireland. Is now available to download below.